Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Clubs > breadcrumbs: FFA > breadcrumbs: Current Activities >


Ajax Loading Image


Mead FFA Chapter Holds Annual Banquet and Plant Sale

The Mead FFA Chapter recently held its annual banquet on Monday, May 2, 2016 to honor members for their achievements throughout the year and to thank supporters.  The evening began with opening ceremonies and a welcome to guests.  Mr. Dave Hunt then gave a speech about the past, present and future of the Mead FFA. During the meal break, a slideshow of this year’s activities was shown. Following the meal, The Mead FFA Alumni awarded scholarships to Shelby Kuhr, Lindsey Mayer, and Margaret Johnson. Next, the Nebraska FFA Foundation rep, Taylor Murren, presented the “I Believe in the future of AG Campaign.” Next was Joe Baldasarre, who presented the new alumni lifetime members. Finally, Mr. Blomendahl, chapter advisor, presented top award winners from this year’s contests and chapter activities.

The chapter also honored businesses and individuals for supporting them throughout the year. They were: Maureen Hunt, Kaitlynn Hunt, Tim Dickes, Caleb Dickes, Marissa Napolitano, Erika Springbet, Kaylee Carlson, Kassidy Holloway, and Chance Anderson. Ms. Dawn Moser, Jacob Mayer, Joe Baldasarre, and Brad Nygren. Deb Virgl, Maybelle Tweedy, Jim Halbmaier, Vern Taylor, Jamie Nygren, Bob Bice, Roger Nelson, Dale Nygren, and Terry Miller.

The Chapter honored school faculty and members of the school board. The Faculty members: Kris Schutt, Shelly Kruse, Lisa Taylor, Mr. PJ Quinn, Dr. Dale Rawson, Members of the school board: Richard Kuhr, Andy Carritt, Stephanie Langemeier, Kevin Hough, Nate Mongan, and Brenda Halbmaier. Parents of the Officers: Dave and Maureen Hunt, Victor and Joan Hanson, Richard and Kathy Kuhr, Marc and Angie Johnson, Jerry and Pat Carlson, Mike and Karla Holloway, and Lisa Slobodnik.

The leadership award was presented to: Caleb Dickes, June Johnson, Evan Hough, and Don Hanson. The Academic Excellence Award was presented to: Caleb Dickes, Ethan Dyas, Dylan Taylor, and Lindsey Mayer. Fruit Sales awards was presented to: Don Hanson, Margaret Johnson, June Johnson, and Marissa Napolitano. SAE awards were presented to: Shelby Kuhr, Marissa Napolitano, Dylan Taylor, Ana Leise, Kayanna Jelinek, John Popken, Cassie Tweedy, June Johnson, Shelby Kuhr, Jacob Felty, and Michael Klahn. Star Greenhand went to Miranda Mueller and Kaitlynn Hunt received Star Chapter Farmer.

The Greenhand degree was presented to: Caleb Dickes, Ethan Lihs, Michyla Lihs, Aidan Mongan, Miranda Mueller, Josie Parham, Rachel Slobodnik, Wyatt Winn, Josh Quinn, Cole Zima, Marissa Napolitano, and Megan Kinzle. Chapter Degrees were presented to: Ethan Dyas, Jacob Felty, Jayden Haag, Mckenna Holloway, June Johnson, Ana Leise, John Popken, Cassie Tweedy, and Michael Slobodnik.

The chapter also awarded fourteen honorary chapter degrees.  This award goes to the parents of a graduating senior FFA member. They were: Dave and Maureen Hunt, Victor and Joan Hanson, Richard and Kathy Kuhr, Marc and Angie Johnson, Jerry and Pat Carlson, Jill Leise, P.J. and Lesha Quinn, Rhonda Jelinek, Troy and Amanda Dowty, Mike and Karla Holloway, and Cathel Mayer.

The evening concluded with the installation of the new 2016-2017 chapter officers.  The retiring officers: Michael Slobodnik, McKenna Holloway, Kaylee Carlson, Margaret Johnson, Shelby Kuhr, Don Hanson, and Kaitlynn Hunt. The officers that filled their positions are: McKenna Holloway, President; Ana Leise, Vice President; Miranda Mueller, Secretary; June Johnson, Treasurer; Cassie Tweedy, Reporter; Evan Hough, Sentinel; and Caleb Dickes, Parliamentarian.

On Saturday, May 7th the Mead FFA held their annual plant sale. Additionally, some chapter officers visited Shirley Miller, and picked up Phil Miller's wood working tools, which were donated to the chapter. Thanks to the community for continuing to support our chapter throughout the year!

  • RSS Icon

Mead Public Schools 114 N. Vine Mead, NE  68041


Sign up for the News Update.

Back To Top